List Museums By Name
Lac du Bonnet District Museum
790 Provincial Highway 502 at Halliday Park
Lac du Bonnet MB R0E 1A0
Admission: Donations accepted
July - August, Wednesday through Sunday, 12:00 - 16:00
Off Season Hours:
Last two weekends in May, open 12:00 - 16:00 First Saturday and Sunday in September, open 12:00 - 16:00
About the Museum:
Explore Lac du Bonnet's past while wandering through a fully restored log cabin, which is a designated Municipal Heritage Site. Built in 1935 by Norwegian homesteader, Hans Erickson, the cabin is currently located on the property of the area's first homesteader, William Duncan Halliday.
Interpretive displays and photos document Lac du Bonnet history from the First Peoples to early Pioneer Times.
Lac du Bonnet is known for its diversity of 27 founding nationalities including the largest Latvian Settlement west of Toronto.
Picnic in the park and walk the nearby Blueberry Rock Trail!
Also be sure to visit Lac du Bonnet's oldest remaining significant building, the former St. John's Anglican Church built in 1906. The Church is located at 86 McArthur Avenue in the Town of Lac du Bonnet. It has recently been designated as a Municipal Heritage Site.
Tours are available. 204-345-6329
May: Annual Open House
July 1 & 2 Winnipeg River Rendezvous 2nd annual 1850 Fur Trade re-enactment . Start off with a formal Indigenous opening ceremony. meet the Fur Traders, learn about the Fur Trade in 1850 as you roam around the authentic period camps, and experience musket demos. Bannock & wild rice will be available for purchase.
(click image to enlarge)